Northern Sparsely Populated Areas (NSPA)

The NSPA network is close cooperation between Sweden’s four northernmost provinces (Norrbotten, Västerbotten, Jämtland Härjedalen, Västernorrland), seven most northern and most eastern areas of Finland (Lapland, Oulu Region, Central Ostrobothnia, Kainuu, North Karelia, Pohjois-Savo and South Savo) and two regions in northern Norway (Troms and Finnmark, Nordland).

These 13 regions from three countries have shared objectives and common conditions, some of which are sparsely living population, challenging climate conditions and long distances populated areas. This part of Europe is strongly affected by globalisation, energy management, climate change and structural changes of population. Population density of the area is only 4,9 inhabitants per square kilometre, which is found in no other part of the European Union.

Together as NSPA, these regions aim to make themselves, their knowledge, possibilities and special conditions seen and heard by the EU institutions and other interest groups to affect EU politics. Furthermore, the network serves as a platform for cross-border cooperation and exchange of best practices.

Additional information: